Vehicle Registration Process – Get to Know the Facts

In order for you to own and operate a vehicle in the state of Texas, you must get your vehicle registered first. This blog will highlight all the essential points which must be known about the vehicle registration process.

registration

No matter in which county of Texas you live in, you are required to register all vehicles owned by you, upon which a registration sticker is issued, which must be pasted upon your vehicle, either on the windshield, or near the rear license plate. This serves as evidence that your vehicle has been registered and authorized by the state of Texas, to be used by you.

The procedure for getting your vehicle registered in your respective county, in Texas, is as follows.

  • The first thing to do is get your newly purchased vehicle registered, which must be done within 30 days after the vehicle has been bought.
  • If you are a non-resident, then a temporary registration permit would be issued to you. This permit will be valid for 30 days, from the date on which it is issued, and is usually permitted for transporting farm goods and equipment, during the peak seasons.
  • For certain special vehicles, as defined under Texas driving law, the owner may be granted a temporary permit after paying a reduced fee for registration. Such temporary tags are applicable for a period of 60 days.
  • Vehicles which have been registered to be used on farms, are also allowed to be used for the transportation of passengers from one place to another, however, this cannot be practiced for reasons related to employment.
  • There are certain vehicles which are not required to be registered or inspected in the state of Texas. These include:
  • Farm tractor, farm trailers or semi trailers, along with certain other types of farm trailers which are used for the transportation of fertilizers. However, the weight of such vehicles must not exceed 4000 lbs.
  • Power sweepers, golf carts (of a certain type), electric bicycles, and other electric mobility devices, need not be registered or inspected.

In order for these vehicles to not go through the process of registration, the owner must first get a license plate which distinguishes the vehicle from those that are required to be registered before use. These can be operated on the highway, however, only temporarily. Such vehicles also include vehicles used in the construction process, along with those which are used for drilling water from the ground.

For people who have just shifted to the state of Texas, and are new to it, it is mandatory for them to first register every vehicle they own, before they can apply for a driver’s license. They may be living here temporarily or may have shifted on a permanent basis, in both cases they are required to register their motor vehicle, before they are allowed to drive in Texas.

In order to gain further information regarding the matter, contact the County Tax Assessor – Collector, or the Department of Motor Vehicles in the state of Texas.